More things you might not know about me

Country Store
Country Store where I work
I know I haven’t written anything in a while, I have excuses though! ;) I’ve been sick, the gov is harassing me, my garden is calling… Well, they are all true, I’ll explain more in a future message, in the mean time, here is something fun I found on another blog and thought I’d post it here.

It’s really a Monday Meme according to the blogger from whom I stole, er borrowed this meme, it appears to be an alphabet meme, I don’t usually do memes, but what the heck, it’s Friday, I don’t have to “work” today, so I’ll do this one now.

A – Age: 43

B – Bed size: Queen

C – Chore you hate: Emptying out the poop bucket (Humanure)

D – Dog’s name: Pekoe Puppy Girl, aka Baby Girl, she is a 10 year old, long hair chihuahua

E – Essential start your day item: Checking email

F – Favorite color: Depends on my mood, I tend to like earthy colors

G – Gold or Silver or Platinum: Dirt

H – Height: 5’4″

I – Instruments you play: keyboard (piano, organ…), I haven’t played in years though. I would like to learn to play the guitar someday

J – Job title: That’s hard to say, I “work” at the Country store in the center of our tiny community, I work for food and fuel (not money), I essentially sit on the porch and talk to people, occasionally I ring up a purchase or help someone pump fuel, I don’t know what that “position” would be called

K – Kid(s): Besides my chihuahua, I have one grown son

L – Living arrangements: 2 room sky castle (cabin), on a mountain side, in the high desert of far west Texas, 100% off-grid

M – Mom’s name: Mom, that’s what I always called her

N – Nicknames: Queen of Stack and Mountain Babe

O – Overnight hospital stay other than birth: 2 times, both as a child, had my tonsils removed, had a nasty staph infection in my hip, nearly lost my leg, got the scar on my hip to prove it

P – Pet Peeve: The people who leave their outdoor lights on (when they aren’t using them) all night, where I live there is an observatory nearby, all of the surrounding towns and such are required by law to keep outdoor lighting subdued, it’s very dark here at night, most people comply with the darkness rules.

Another pet peeve is the tourists who come out here and drive their ATVs and 4 wheelers up and down and up and down and up and down the roads, it’s usually very quiet out here, except during holidays and summer, the traffic goes from a couple of cars a day to a myriad of vehicles, too many to count… I have no problem with the locals or even the tourists using their ATVs and 4 wheelers to get to a destination, going from one house or property to the next, going to the store, going to the mailbox, it’s the running back and forth a dozen times or more, all day long that bugs me, if they weren’t so darned noisy…

My final pet peeve is the government telling us or anyone else how to live, leave me alone and I’ll leave you alone, that is my preferred way to live.

Q – Quote from a movie: “Big Badda Boom”, from The Fifth Element

R – Right handed or left handed: Right, somewhat ambidextrous, I do many things with my left hand

S – Siblings: 4 total, a younger brother (deceased), a younger sister, an older half brother and older half sister (deceased)

T – Time you wake up: My sleep schedule is varied, unless I have to go sit at the store to chat or have a “date” to go into town with someone, I get up when I wake up, I enjoy sleeping late, 10 am or later…

U- Underwear: commando, I do wear a bra but only if other people (besides Mountain Man Bob) are going to see me ;) I do have some modesty

V – Vegetable you dislike: I like veggies, I haven’t met one I didn’t like… let’s say that I dislike mushy, cooked to death, canned veg, I prefer fresh

W – Ways you run late: Being on the internet, it is all too easy to lose track of time or have to get that one last thing in… and forgetting how long it takes to get into town, I always underestimate that

X – X-rays you’ve had: Dental, chest and hip

Y – Yummy food you make: I love eating and cooking, right now I’d say my favorite food that I make is homemade enchiladas, I even make the tortillas by hand, I usually make flour tortillas, the last time I made enchiladas, I branched out and tried making corn tortillas, it turned out pretty good, Mountain Man Bob declared that he likes these better than flour tortillas, time to stock up on corn masa mix

Z – Zoo favorite: I don’t go to zoos, I have nothing against them, I just don’t generally go, but if I have to say what my zoo favorite is, I’d say it’s the petting zoo, I like getting “hands on” with the critters, I also love the smell of the animals, smells like a farm

That’s about it, here’s a video compilation of my own making, hope you enjoy watching it.

Read more articles written by Wretha here:



2 Responses

  1. MsBelinda, thanks for writing, yes, there are dangerous things out here, ladders, tarantulas, snakes, scorpions, the sun, mountain lions, bears, rocks, some of the plants (cactus), lightning, fire, propane, deep cycle batteries, the wind, and lots more, but I do not fear any of these things, I respect them, but have no fear. I feel safer living out here than anywhere else I have ever lived in my life. :)

  2. Nice compilation of videos, though the ladder looks a bit dangerous as well as the tarantula. For a while I was not able to access your blog but then I read the reason why. Hope you get to feeling better soon.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


Join the global off-grid community

Register for a better experiencE on this site!