Off Grid Home Forums Technical Discussion Do soalr panels have to be “aimed”?

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    Anonymous
    Inactive

I am new to this, and was wondering if solar panels should be aimed to where they will get the most direct sunlight. What angle should panels be set? Any help is appreciated.

tlagrone

https://hubpages.com/hub/Solar-Angle-Calculators

No shade is more important than exact angle.

revinger
    Participant

In addition to setting the angle as mentioned in the previous post they should be ‘typically’ pointed straight south for those in the northern hemisphere. There are exceptions to this though based on what obstructions are around you.

automated trackers are available but unless one has a huge array the cost is usually not worth it. The time of year where trackers would benefit the most (winter) is also the time of year when they will least help.

bob

somewhere in illinois

Anonymous
    Inactive

Forget the complicated stuff like compass or latitude scale. the simplest tool to determine the right angle is a simple block of wood or plastic. Place a shadow pin in it by drilling a hole that is a tight fit for a short lenght of arc welding rod or even a piece of straight coat hanger. Drill the hole with a drill press so the shadow pin is exactly perpendicular to block surface. Place block on solar panel and adjust panel angle and direction so there is no shadow of the pin showing. the pin is now pointing directly at sun. As soon as the panel is angled off a shadow appears. You can either manually adjust the panel every 15 minutes or pick an average at local high noon then lock in the panel for the season. It has been mentioned that summer and winter angles will vary. This shadow pin tool also helps here. I tested it out while measuring the solar panel output. adjusting every 15 minutes makea big difference.